top of page

Dear Guests!

更新日:3月17日




Welcome to the Naniwa Toastmasters Club!

  My name is Miki, and I am in my second year of Toastmasters.

I would like to share my impression of Toastmasters after one year of continuing the program!

I have always liked English and studied it, and now I can manage greetings, self-introductions and simple conversations.

However, when it comes to deep conversations about social issues or my impressions of a

movie, I become sloppy....

When I was searching for an online English conversation school, I stumbled upon Toastmasters Club and I decided to join after much deliberation.

When I was called on for a table topic speech (an impromptu two-minute speech on a certain

topic) at the first meeting I attended, my mind went blank and I was in an "ahhhhh" state.

The speech I managed to make was a complete mess in grammar and made no sense. The speech time, which seemed like an eternity to me, ended up being less than one minute.

Nevertheless, I was so impressed by the members' wonderful English skills and kind humanity that I decided to join the club. After a year of my membership, I have three reasons why I’m glad I joined.

1. Improvement in my English and Activation of the thinking process!

The speeches are, of course, in English.

It takes a lot of effort to make, memorize, and present a 7-minute speech by myself.

You can fully acquire the ability by converting your usual thoughts on social issues, art, lifestyle,

etc. into English and practicing it over and over again.

The table topics I talked about at the beginning of this article will not only improve your English

skills, but also train you to summarize your thoughts on a regular basis.

For example, I like the color “blue”, but it is quite difficult to explain the reasons for two minutes.

Simply saying, "Because I think it is a beautiful color," would only take me three seconds!

Always asking "why?" is a great way to "have your own opinion".

  In addition to speeches, there are many other things you have to deal with in English, such as

hosting meetings and being a timer!

I’m sure those jobs help you improve your speaking skills!

 

2. Personal growth!

Toastmasters clubs are operated by the members themselves. There is no teacher, and there is

no staff.

So I have been working as a “timer” to time speeches and an “Ah counter” to count unnecessary

words right after I joined.

 Although I think, "I would never want to be a board member of a neighborhood association," I

have to work with the spirit of "those who can, do what they can" to keep the meetings running here.

Being considerate to others is the key to making everyone participate comfortably at all times.

 Each time I complete one of my tasks, I can feel myself growing.

3. Wallet-friendly.

Naniwa Toastmasters club holds one meeting per month, and the monthly membership fee is

1,500 yen (as of 2024).

But that's not all.

There are lots of online programs and resources offered by the headquarters (some programs

cost a fee). Recently, they also offer an app that can be used for speech practice.

  Whether 1,500 yen is expensive or not is entirely up to you. If you actively participate, the intense

two-hour meeting will provide you more than what you paid for, and if you just sit and watch during

the meeting, the 1,500 yen may be wasted.

  But if you have read this far, you will be fine. You will get more than the membership fee.

 

What’s more!

 In Naniwa Toastmasters Club, we often go out for dinner after on-site meetings.

 In the after-meeting dinner, the members with different titles and backgrounds come together

under the common hobby of "English. We always have a lot of fun and get excited about various

topics!

 Currently, we have many female members, but all are welcome. We are looking forward to your

joining us.

I am hoping that many people will join us soon!

ようこそ!なにわトーストマスターズクラブへ!

  私は、トーストマスターズ2年目に突入したミキです。

 今回は、1年続けてみた私から、トーストマスターズの印象をお話しします!

 昔から英語が好きで、挨拶や自己紹介、短くて簡単な会話なら、なんとかできるようになりました。

 しかし、社会問題や映画を見た感想など深い内容の会話になると、しどろもどろに・・・。

 独学には限界があるとオンライン英会話学校を検索していた時に、偶然トーストマスターズクラブという言葉に遭遇し、熟考の上、入会しました。

 初めて参加したミーティング。テーブルトピック(あるトピックについて即興で2分間のスピーチを作る)で指名された時には、頭が真っ白になって、「あ~、う~」状態。

 なんとかひねり出したスピーチは、文法もめっちゃくちゃで、内容も意味不明。永遠のように感じたスピーチ時間は1分にも満たない結果に。

 それでも、メンバーの素晴らしい英語力と優しい人間性に感銘を受け、入会を決めました。

 そんな私が1年続けてきて、よかったと思うことは3つ!

1つ、英語が上達し、思考回路が活性化!

 スピーチはもちろん英語。

 基本7分間のスピーチを自分で作り、暗記し、発表するのは結構な労力が必要です。

 社会問題や芸術、ライフスタイルなど、普段自分が考えていることを英語に変換し、何回も練習することで、自分の身体にしみついていきます。

 冒頭に話したテーブルトピックでは、英語力はもちろん、普段から自分の考えをまとめておく訓練にもなります。

 例えば、私は青色が好きですが、その理由を2分間説明するのは結構大変。「綺麗な色だと思うから」だけでは、3秒で終わってしまう!

 常に「なぜ?」を考えることで「自分の意見を持つ」ことができるのです。

 スピーチだけでなく、ミーティングの司会やタイマー係など、英語で対応しなければならないことがたくさん!

 嫌でも英語が上達してしまう!!

 

2つ、人間的に成長する!

 トーストマスターズクラブは、会員自身が作り上げていくクラブです。先生もいなければ、スタッフもいません。

 だから、私も、入会直後から、スピーチの時間を計る「タイマー」や、不必要な言葉を数える「Ahカウンター」などの仕事をこなしています。

 「町内会の役員には絶対なりたくない」と思っている私ですが、ここでは「できる人が、できることをする」という精神で取り組まなければ、ミーティングの運営は成り立たないのです。

 常にみんなが気持ちよく参加できるように、各人が思いやる。

 仕事をひとつこなすたびに、自分の成長を感じることができます。

3つ、お財布に優しい。

 会としての活動は月に1度が基本で、1ヶ月の会費は1500円(2024年予定)。

 でも、それだけじゃないんです。

 本部が提供しているオンラインプログラムやリソースがいっぱい(一部有料)。最近はスピーチの練習

に使えるアプリも提供されるようになりました。

 1500円が高いか安いかは、すべて自分次第です。積極的に参加すれば濃厚な2時間半になるし、見ているだけなら1500円は無駄になるかもしれません。

 でも、ここまで読んでくださったあなたなら、きっと大丈夫。会費以上のものが手にはいること間違いなし!

 

おまけ

 なにわトーストマスターズクラブでは、オンサイトミーティングの後に有志でご飯を食べに行くこともしばしば。

 肩書もバックグラウンドも違う人々が、「英語好き」という共通項で集まる場所。いつも、わいわいがやがや様々なことで盛り上がっています!

 現在のところ、女性会員が多いのですが、どなたでもウェルカム。ご入会お待ちしております。

「はやく後輩が入ってこないかなあ」と思っているミキでした!

閲覧数:23回0件のコメント

最新記事

すべて表示
bottom of page